If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

Soul Searching

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on November 3, 2004

What is it about some cars that stirs the soul? It’s not simply a performance issue.

My 1998 Audi A4 with its 1.8 liter turbocharged 4 cylinder engine driving all four wheels will drive circles around my 1983 BMW 533i with its 3.2 liter inline six cylinder driving the rear wheels. Everything about the Audi is light and easy. The shifter moves nicely from one gear to the next, the steering wheel places the car exactly where I want it in my lane. The clutch is no chore at all to operate.

However, even when driving at 10/10ths my pulse never races.

Almost everything about the BMW seems crude in comparison to the Audi. The shifter is balky, resisting downshifts. The clutch is a bear to hold disengaged for more than a few moments. The steering, even though power assisted, requires more than twice the effort to hold the car on course through a curve.


Executive Car Service provides corporate Baltimore sedan service and luxury BWI International airport transportation throughout the Baltimore Metropolitan area.


But all it takes to give me goosebumps is one run through the gears. Just the sweet sound of the BMW’s six racing toward redline is enough to send shivers down my spine.

I’m certainly not trying to imply that the source of a car’s holding power over me is simply the sound of the exhaust note. That’s just one factor. The others are more difficult to put into words.

I’d certainly like to hear any thoughts on the matter. Either post a comment here or email me at dorri732 at gmail dot com.

Leave a Reply

 
