If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

It’s the little things

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on November 4, 2004

My two biggest pet peeves with automotive design are seatbelts that are difficult to buckle and turn signal switches that don’t have an increase in resistance prior to fully engaging.

Seatbelts: One of the items that I use every time I drive my (or any other) car. A properly designed seatbelt should be able to be fastened in the dark with one hand the first time you’ve ever been in the car. Very rarely is this the case. When I was in High School I had a friend with a 1988 Chevy S10. This truck had the easiest to operate seatbelts of any I’ve found to date. The belt had rollers at the top and the bottom and the latch stood up several inches above the seat instead of being buried in the seat cushions.

Perhaps the automakers know that I will use the seatbelt no matter how difficult it is to operate.


Executive Car Service provides corporate New York car service and luxury JFK International airport transportation throughout the New York Metropolitan area.


Turn signal switches: The only thing that bothers me more than difficult to operate seatbelts is poorly designed switchgear. After all, I only use the seatbelts once per drive. Sometimes I wonder if the design engineers ever drive the cars they design. How else could they fail to notice how annoying it is to be forced to manually cancel your blinker after changing lanes? My 1993 Oldsmobile Achieva (hereafter referred to as the UnderAcheiva) had no redeeming qualities except a blinker switch with a distinct breakpoint prior to full engagement.

Maybe I notice this because I actually use my turn signals to signal lane changes (gasp!).

Leave a Reply

 
