If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

$2005 Challenge

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on November 8, 2004

Ever since I first heard of the Grassroots Motorsports $1999 challenge back in – you guessed it – 1999, I have been just itching to compete.

The concept behind the event is simple: Just purchase and prepare a car to compete in an autocross, a drag race, and a concours-type car show judging. All within a budget of (next year) $2005.00. This leads to some pretty creative engineering.

My entry for the $2005 event is a 1983 BMW 533i that I purchased for $400.00. I have since put another $250 or so into it by purchasing new rear shocks (ebay), brake pads (also ebay) and used Hoosier racing tires (GRM message board). My goal is not to win. Not even to place in the top 10.

My goal is to be able to drive the car home after the competition is over.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

 
