If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

Automotive ordeals: Part 1

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on September 13, 2005



We all (well most of us anyway) have some interesting automotive stories to tell.

In June of 2001 I bought a 1979 Pontiac Trans Am from a friend of mine. This wouldn’t make for a good story except that he lived in Bremerton, WA and I lived in Saratoga Springs, NY.

Being the adventurous type that I fancied myself to be, I didn’t see this as a problem. I would just fly out, visit with my mother, who lived nearby, and drive home with a slight detour to visit some family in Henagar, AL. It was just a 3660 mile trip. What could possibly go wrong?

Did I mention that the TA hadn’t been driven in about 10 months?

Amazingly enough, the first two days were uneventful. Midnight on the third night; however, found me in a gas station in East St. Louis with a 22 year old car that refused to start. Wouldn’t even try.

No problem; I was prepared for any eventuality. I had my trusty $12 Wal-Mart toolkit. After about 4 hours on my back in this gas station parking lot (all five hotels within walking distance were full!), I had discovered that the starter would work sometimes(!) after taking it off and spinning it by hand. I put it back together, crossed my fingers, said a little prayer, and it started right up.

More to follow . . .

One Response to “Automotive ordeals: Part 1”

  1. Anonymous said

    Your blog is creative Keep up the great work. This may be of interest to you; how to buy & sell everything, like music on interest free credit; pay whenever you want.

Leave a Reply

 
