If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

Automotive ordeals: Part 2

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on September 14, 2005


At this point, I decided to try to make the rest of the trip to Henagar, AL without turning off the engine. I had less than 500 miles to go; I should be able to do that in about 7 hours.

Except that it was now around 6am on my second day of driving without any sleep.

So I bought several caffeinated beverages and sugary snacks and set out to complete my journey.

Around noon on Sunday, the car overheated and quit on the side of the interstate about 15 miles from the Alabama state line. I put in the half-gallon or so of water I had thoughtfully brought with me and attempted to start the car. It wouldn’t start.

I slid down an embankment to a side road and walked to the nearest house and asked for help. The fellow there was nice enough to take me to rescue my car (somehow he knew that hitting the starter with a hammer would work), and then took me to a parts store and let me use his tools to replace my water pump. I didn’t bother to replace the starter there, I had my own hammer.

After I made it to Henagar, I replaced the starter and added a temperature gage. I didn’t have any more trouble for the rest of the trip to New York.

I ended up driving that car for 2 years and then putting the engine in another TA (the blue one in the picture) and driving it for another year with no problems whatsoever.

2 Responses to “Automotive ordeals: Part 2”

  1. Anonymous said

    Blog is informative . Dont’t stop. Don’t miss visiting this site about how to buy & sell everything, like music on interest free credit; pay whenever you want.

  2. Anonymous said

    Image hosting site traffic up 406% from the beginning of 2005
    As a category, image hosting sites have grown 406% to more than 14.7 mln unique users since January 2005, accounting for nearly 10% of active US Internet users.

    This is a terrific blog!

    We have a dwg to pdf related site that you should see sometime to learn what’s going on in the dwg to pdf world… look forward to your visit!

Leave a Reply

 
