If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

Interstate etiquette: part 2

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on September 20, 2005


So there I was, minding my own business, heading down I-85 with my cruise control set at 79 miles per hour. This was exactly nine m.p.h. over the speed limit, fast enough to make pretty good time, slow enough to avoid arousing the ire of Johnny Law.

Then I got to him. He was driving a mid nineties Dodge Ram pickup. He was probably going about 75.

Until I passed him.

Then he sped up to about 85 and passed me, pulling rapidly back in front of me and slowing back down to 75 again.

Then he did it again.

And again.

And again.

I wouldn’t have thought much about it if this had been an isolated event. But it happens almost every time I drive any significant distance on the interstate.

Do these people think I am challenging their manhood (or womanhood) by passing them?

Do they feel better about themselves when they speed up and pass me back?

Are you one of these people? Think hard; I don’t think most of them realize they are doing it.

Leave a Reply

 
