If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

Every conceivable type of engine

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on October 22, 2005


That’s what I want to own; every variation of the internal combustion engine.

I’m not just talking about 4 cylinder, 6 cylinder, etc. I’m talking about rotary, two-stroke, diesel, etc.

I already own just about the best example of the four-stroke piston engine I’m likely to be able to afford. It’s a V-12 in my BMW 750iL.

I should be able to find a rotary from an RX-7 pretty easily and then find a suitable home for it.

I’m not really sure what I’d do with a diesel, perhaps build a parts hauler around it. At any rate, they’re not difficult to come by.

The two-stroke will be coming from an outboard engine. I can’t think of any larger two strokes The 200HP Evinrude outboards have 3.0 liter two-stroke V-6s. Should be just about perfect for an MGB.

If I could find an old Cadillac V-16 at a Dorri-friendly price I wouldn’t be able to refuse, but I don’t see that happening.

The most difficult engine – to find and to house in an automobile – will be a radial engine. These were used in airplane applications and in a few tanks. If you aren’t familiar with them, they are just about the coolest engines in the world. Five, seven, or nine cylinders arranged radially around a crankshaft, firing sequentially.

Leave a Reply

 
