If it\’s got an engine. . .

Dorri probably likes it

I can’t drive fifty-five!

Posted by ifitsgotanengine on April 3, 2006


Because nobody will let me.

Let me back up a bit.

Spending 10 years in the Navy gave me the opportunity to live all over the country. This (Salem/Seneca, SC) is the only place I’ve lived where I routinely get stuck behind someone going less than the speed limit.

And I’m not just talking about three or four mph, here. Hardly a day goes by that I don’t get stuck behind someone who refuses to accelerate to within 10 mph of the speed limit. I used to think that they were just being extremely careful, until I noticed that they drive slowly through the stop signs as well.

While I’m on the subject, there are some other idiosyncrasies I’ve noticed.

In Quitman, Mississippi, most drivers seem to take a dashed center line as a challenge. I got passed by more people there than anywhere else.

In Saratoga Springs, NY (and, I suspect, most of the Northeast) if someone is at a red light waiting to turn left, they will invariably dash across in front of the oncoming traffic when the light turns green.

2 Responses to “I can’t drive fifty-five!”

  1. Pete said

    “if someone is at a red light waiting to turn left, they will invariably dash across in front of the oncoming traffic when the light turns green.”

    Wait, we’re not supposed to?! Damn. Sorry.

  2. Anonymous said

    my “favorite” is the Philly Creep. near Philadelphia, people watch the cross traffic’s light and, if no one is coming, when it goes yellow, they start to creep through the intersection. it’s like they think that if they don’t go any faster than 5 MPH, they aren’t running the red! it drove me berserk.

    sean

Leave a Reply

 
